Food

Excuse my Ice cream 


After some much needed rest and relaxation I am finally back to my normal routine. It’s been a good 3 weeks since my last blog post and although I am not happy that you all had to wait this long to hear from me again it feels good to be well rested . I hope you have all been keeping well, here in the Southern Hemisphere we are slowly moving into Autum as Winter is just around the corner and I must say I couldn’t be happier. Summer has never been my favourite season due to the extreme temperatures we experience here in Southern Africa which either leave me feeling really beat or with a very bad migraine. What can I say it’s the price I pay for loving my beautiful homeland.

However today this blog post is about one of the few things I actually adore about summer, ice cream . Yes ice cream, one of the most coverted summer desserts in the world. It comes in all flavours and a rainbow of colours to compliment the various flavours. While I was away on holiday my sister added a rather interesting twist to our ice cream one afternoon and I thought I should share it with you. It’s what I call putting a healthy twist on a not so healthy dessert.

Firstly instead of scooping the chocolate ice cream onto the conventional desert bowl, we opted for wine glasses to make it look a little fancy. Then we cut up some of our favourite fruits, including mangoes, plums and nectarines. We then used the slices of fruit to decorate the ice cream and make it look a little more colourful. The final healthy touch to the ice cream was sprinkling some muesli over it. I have to admit we were a bit skeptical as to how it would taste but much to our surprise it was delicious. The fruits added some natural sweetness to the dessert while the muesli added a bit of a crunchy effect. We then enjoyed our dessert sitting on the balcony of our hotel apartment over looking the swimming pool. If you have any dessert recepies you would like to share, please comment below or better yet you can try our recipe and tell us what you think.

xoxo

Chocolate & Confident

Leave a Reply

