Lifestyle

What I’ve learnt from being bullied


Bullying is never an easy topic to talk about but it is absolutely necessary. Everyday hundreds if not thousands of children and adults suffer from mental disorders including depression and in some extreme cases even resort to suicide because of being victims of bullying . This is a topic that I have wanted to write about for the longest time because it’s something I can relate to. So today I would like to share my story with you.

My Primary/Elementary school experience was 7 years of pure hell. The thought of going to school everyday was a nightmare. I always felt like I owed it to myself to stand up for myself but I just couldn’t gather the strength to do it. School trips were honestly the worst, the ride to and from felt like a never ending circle of anguish. Some fellow students would take it as an opportunity to gang up on me and make fun of me. I’ve never been much of a crier but I always felt like I was moving around with a heavy weight on my shoulders. I was bullied mostly because I was smart, had darker skin than most of my classmates and because I was from a different country. Despite being bullied my grades never dropped, staying focused on school gave me something else to keep my mind on.

What I have learnt:

1. Having a rough experience earlier in my childhood didn’t make me weak, although at the time it felt like I was being torn apart, I’ve grown up to know how to stand my ground and not to tolerate bullies. When we talk about bullying the first thing that comes to mind is physical bullying but that’s not always the case. Repeatedly making fun of someone is bullying too. You don’t have to raise your fists to be a bully, your words can actually do more harm than you think.

2. Never let someone else dictate how happy you are. I let my bullies determine whether I had a good day or a bad day, whether I was happy or sad. You’re only young once and when I had the chance I should have stood up for myself not by retaliating but by making it clear that I wasn’t going to take any of their nonsense and I would take further action if they continued. No one should ever have to feel like a puppet because of other human beings.

3. I want you to know that reporting bullying doesn’t make you a snitch. We all have the right to education in a secure environment and if anyone is infringing that right you need to speak out. Bullies are just people like you and me, they are not superhuman, even though sometimes it kind of feels like they are. With hindsight I’ve learnt that I shouldn’t have suffered in silence and you shouldn’t either. Help was readily available and all I needed to do was take advantage of it but I was too scared. Bullying either at school or the work place should be reported to the relevant people, it’s the right thing to do, let bullies know that you know your rights and you are not going to let them walk all over them.

4. Lastly making fun of someone over something they can’t change is simply ignorance. So many people are bullied because they are different from those around them. But guess what, variety is not a mistake and no one should ever make you feel like it is. I didn’t pick my skin colour up from a MAC counter or a supermarket, I didn’t choose what country I originated from on a world map, I was simply born with it. So if you want to make fun of me because of something I had no control over then the joke is on you. I suggest you get the relevant information, Google should be able to help you with that.

The truth is we will never live in a world without bullies but we can change the way we view them. Bullies are not heroes or superhuman. They are only bullies when we let them have power over us. I decided to forgive the people that bullied me, not because they apologised but because I refused to let them hover over me. I forgave them for my sake, so that I could move on with my life, happier and full of gratitude for all the good things in my life. Remember bullying is not the end and being bullied does not mean there is something wrong with you. I hope this post has helped you, if you have ever been a victim of bulling or you  know someone who is currently being bullied. I would love to hear what you thought of the post in the comment section below.

xoxo

Chocolate & Confident

5 thoughts on “What I’ve learnt from being bullied”

  1. I can totally relate to this. I had a very similar experience but more in my secondary school years. Tough times but they definitely make one stronger! Glad you’re able to talk about it now and hopefully help someone else out there deal with being bullied! xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

