Food

Wholewheat Chocolate Chip Muffins


Baking has to be one of my favourite things to do in winter. I simply can’t get enough of baked goodies, from mouth watering savoury pot pies to delectable chocolate cakes with a steaming cup of coffee. This winter I will be sharing with you some of my favourite recipes to whip up during the chilly season. Most people shy away from the idea of baking because they always assume that it’s difficult and they just can’t be bothered to learn. Honestly baking is one of the easiest things you can ever learn, you simply follow the instructions and as time goes on you will get the hang of it and be able to substitute ingredients and customise recepies. My love for baking developed at a young age because my mom has always loved to bake. Anytime she would decide to bake something new I would be right by her side in the kitchen watching closely as she whipped the ingredients together.

Going through recipe books has become a regular for me and I’m always looking for something new to try out. The other day I was in a really good mood and I decided to try out something new. I had never made muffins before and I was looking for a recipe that would be healthy but still yummy. After going through a number of recepies I decided to add my own little twist to one of the recepies I found. Instead of adding oats to the wholewheat flour as the recipe suggested I threw in some chocolate chips , that way I had something healthy that didn’t rob me of all the joys of my occasional guity pleasures.

Below is the recipe for my wholewheat chocolate chip muffins:

(Makes 12 muffins)

2 eggs

125ml vegetable oil

250ml milk

200g brown sugar

400g wholewheat flour

15ml baking powder

5ml salt

100g chocolate chips

5ml vanilla essence

Method:

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 200 Degrees Celsius
  2. Oil a muffin tray
  3. In a large bowl, beat the eggs for about 1 minute and then add the oil and milk. Mix for another 1 minute
  4. Then add the sugar and vanilla essence and continue mixing for a minute
  5. Sift the flour, baking powder and salt into the mixture
  6. Mix well but be careful not to over-mix because it will make the muffins too hard
  7. Add in the chocolate chips and mix for half a minute
  8. Fill the muffin tray with the mixture and bake for 20-25 minutes until the muffins have risen and they are firm.
  9. After they are done allow to cool and enjoy



And that is how my muffins turned out, feel free to try the recipe and tell me how you found it. My muffins were soft, delicious and a favourite with my family and friends. I’m actually making some as soon as I finish typing this blog post. If you have any questions , or recipes you would love to share, leave them in the comment section below. Till next week Friday

xoxo

Chocolate & Confident

5 thoughts on “Wholewheat Chocolate Chip Muffins”

  1. Yey! Can’t wait to try this out when I go home for the holidays. Will be sure to share my success hahaha – never baked before so hoping for the best. Keep sharing please 🙂 xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

