skincare

Summer skincare favourites + review


Hey beautiful people, summer is in the air and today I will be sharing with you my thoughts on some facial products that I have been using over the past 6 weeks. So from the last time I did my skincare basics post I have been on the search for new products because the products I used to use before just stopped working so great with my skin. I noticed that my skin became a little too sensitive to the products maybe because the products were too harsh for my skin. As usual on my search for new products I checked up a couple of reviews and I found the little gems that I will be reviewing today.

1. Nivea shine control facial wash gel

First of all can we please talk about the packaging, it is in a squeeze tube which I think is perfect for a gel. You are able to control how much product you squeeze out of the tube which reduces product wastage. The tube is also clear which means you can actually see what the gel  looks like even before you purchase it. So the packaging definitely gets a thumbs up from me.

My verdict on the packaging 9/10

Now moving on to what the product claims it does. So on the tube it says that the gel deeply cleanses and mattifies for pure and shine free skin. It also says that it is a Hydra IQ formula with face scrub beads.



How I feel about it?

In terms of the texture it is a gel and it is pretty smooth despite the fact that it has the face scrub beads in it. I actually love the fact that it has the beads because I don’t have to purchase a separate face scrub. The beads also help to exfoliate the skin and get rid of dead skin cells which clog up your pores and cause your skin to break out and look dull.

How I use the product?

When it comes to using the product, I first dampen my face with warm water then use just a moderate amount of the gel to massage on my face and neck in circular motions for a good 10 – 15 seconds. I then rinse off with some warm water first then lastly with some cold water just to relax and close my pores. After drying my face off, my goodness my skin feels amazingly smooth and it actually looks shine free.

My final verdict:

Since I started using it I haven’t had any major breakouts apart from the occasional pimple that pops up just to say hi to the world. But my face actually does look brighter and healthier. So if you are someone who struggles from shiny skin do give this product a try.

2. Ponds spot clear facial foam


I will keep my thoughts on this one short & sweet because I don’t want to overwhelm you guys with way too much information. Now this little beauty right here is literally a life saver. It is a multi action facial foam + scrub which fights 10 oil and spot problems.

The foam is infused with Salicylic acid, which is actually what drew me to the product. In particular I use this foam every night to massage onto my skin. I then let it sit on my face and neck for a few seconds until it is dry and then I rinse it off. I have to say my skin not only feels amazing afterwards but it actually looks brighter.

My final verdict:

If you suffer from spots and oil build up problems, give this little beauty a try. I have not been able to put it down since the day I purchased it.

I hope you found this in depth review helpful and if you have any questions or you have actually used the products before please do share your thoughts in the comment section below. If you missed my Skincare Basics blog post be sure to check it out https://chocolateandconfident.wordpress.com/2016/10/25/skincare-basics/

P.S My blog hit 150 followers today and I would like to thank all of you for your unwavering love and support.

Catch up with me on Instagram & Twitter 

xoxo

Chocolate & Confident

3 thoughts on “Summer skincare favourites + review”

Leave a Reply

