Lifestyle

Getting the most out of your day


Hey beautiful people, the weather in my little corner of the world is lovely today. I woke up to the ever so familiar sound of gentle raindrops hitting my windows. As cliche as this sounds this is my perfect stay in weather, so I decided to make myself a steaming cup of hot chocolate, get back into bed and type my long over due blog post on how to get the most out of your day. More often than not we all have those days were we plan on doing a 101 things and yet we find ourselves at the end of the day having only done 3 of the things on our list. Lately I decided to employ some simple keys to curb this habit and today I would like to share them with you:

1. Wake up early

Starting your day earlier will give you more time to do what you need to get done throughout the day. Personally I find that when I wake up late (when I sleep more than 8 hours) my body tends to feel more lethargic and I get very little done. Waking up early also allows you to have ample time to get yourself ready for the day, grab a healthy breakfast & cut down on the amount of time you have to spend stuck in endless traffic.


2. Plan your day ahead

Planning your day helps you make the best use of your time. Rather than just sailing through the day, have an appointed time for everything (and no this doesn’t include planning your bathroom breaks, lol) . Something I’ve found really helpful is having a daily planner. My planner is divided into weekly goals and then I further break these down into daily goals. My daily goals are then further split into Priority items and then Others. Once I started planning my days I have seen a drastic improvement in my time management.


3. Take mini breaks

Taking mini breaks is just as important as planning your day or starting your day early. Having mini breaks throughout the day gives your mind a chance to recuperate . Throughout the day I usually take 20 – 30 minute breaks and I use this time to either take a nap, a walk or just catch up on some things that I might have missed like some emails or just scrolling through my Instagram feed.


4. Tame your cellphone

Now I know the phrase, ‘tame your cellphone’ sounds a bit strange but believe me the cellphone is probably one of the biggest distractions of our generation. I am going to be the first one to confess and admit that I am so guilty of letting my cellphone literally control my every move. I’m that person that jumps for my phone everytime I hear a notification ping and I’m sure a lot of you can relate. Sometimes you plan to get so much done but the minute your cellphone is in your hands to reply one email, 2 hours later you’re on YouTube watching a video about a dancing giraffe. My trick is to mute my notifications and only check them when I am taking a break from more important things. I also try to keep my phone away from me when I’m busy because as long as I can’t see it, I’m not tempted to reach for it.


5. Getting enough shut eye

Sleeping early allows you to have a healthy 7 – 8 hours of sleep and that is a major key to having a productive day. Having sufficient rest allows your mind and body to reboot and prepare for the following day, while also resting from the previous day’s activities.

So there you have it, my 5 key tips on getting the most out of your day, I hope you found them useful and if you have any key tips that help you to get the most out of your day please do share them in the comment section below. If you have any ideas of topics you might want me to write about please feel free to also leave them in the comment section below. But until then…

P.S All the photographs I used in this blog post were sourced from Pinterest

Let’s be social on Instagram & Twitter

xoxo

Chocolate & Confident

17 thoughts on “Getting the most out of your day”

  1. What a helpful post with beautiful pictures. Thank u very much for the post…

    On Fri, Feb 10, 2017 at 11:10 AM, Chocolate & Confident wrote:

    > chocolateandconfident posted: ” Hey beautiful people, the weather in my > little corner of the world is lovely today. I woke up to the ever so > familiar sound of gentle raindrops hitting my windows. As cliche as this > sounds this is my perfect stay in weather, so I decided to make myself a” >

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m a big fan of trying to wake up early, even on a day off. I just feel that it is such a waste to sleep until 12:00 when waking up at 8 also gives me enough sleep. I’ve also introduced a no-phone-zone in my home. No texting or mobile phones during dinner and TV time. I mean, you can only do one thing at a time. I often need my phone for work but when I don’t I tend to put it to one side as well. It can definitely distract me. Great tips, and lovely blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for giving the blog post a read. I think waking up early is something a lot of people struggle with but I have seen so many benefits from starting my day earlier. My parents also have a no cellphone policy during dinner & family time so I can totally relate😃 Hope you have a lovely day

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No worries, my pleasure.

        Would you by any chance be interested in sharing your thoughts and opinions on Creators? I’d love to introduce you to the platform so feel free to shoot me an e-mail for more information. You can find my contact details on my blog.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. brilliant post, I like the suggestion on waking up early,I have personally tried it and achieve a lot more on these days than on days when I don’t. You also spoke about having a daily planner..which i think helps in reducing stress among other things and ‘it is said that things that get scheduled are the things which get done’.Do you use an app for your daily planning? if so would you recommend any.. Great Job!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for giving my post a read. I’m glad that you found it beneficial😃 When it comes to planning my day I’m pretty old fashioned, I just use a written diary. Although I do occasionally add a to do list to my calendar on my iPhone.

      Like

Leave a Reply

